Thanksgiving Turkey

I’ve been making our Turkey for the past three years and I have never used a recipe.  I’ve eyeball all my ingredients. This year I decided that I would measure everything in order to share it here in my blog.  Please note, I love my poultry dark and as you can see from the picture, the turkey had a nice golden color.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What you’ll need:

13 Pound Turkey 

2 bottles Labatt Light Beer

1  Tablespoon Sage

2  Tablespoons Rosemary

2  Tablespoons Oregano

2 Tablespoons Basil

1/2 Teaspoon Thyme

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

1/2 Teaspoon Black Pepper

1/2 cup of butter(softened)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat Oven to 325 degrees. Bake 3 to 3-1/2 hour.
  2. In a bowl combine all the ingredients and put aside.
  3. Lift the skin on the turkey and put small amounts of butter underneath in the areas that will allow you. ie: breast, back, along the legs. Then rub any extra butter on the skin of the outside. This will give the turkey its glow.
  4. After applying the butter, proceed to add the rub. I usually sprinkle it evenly on the outside. I also put the rub on the inside of the turkey, under the wings, in the crease of the legs. Every inch of turkey should have the rub mixture.
  5. Place in a nonstick pan.
  6. Empty the Labatt around the turkey, not on the turkey.
  7. As the turkey cooks, it will release juices that will be combined with the beer. The last hour of baking I usually baste the turkey every 15-20 minutes until it has the color that I like.

Leave a comment